Posted by: Kath Usitalo | January 10, 2013

How Many of Detroit’s 101 “Must-Dos” Have You Done?

The Wright Museum rotunda ceiling soars 65 feet

The Wright Museum of African American History is a must-do in Detroit

I thought I’d score higher when I started to check off all of the things I’d seen and experienced on the One Hundred Plus One Must -Do Metro Detroit list in the Detroit Free Press. But it turns out I’ve only done about half of the “Fun and Fabulous Activities” recommended for 2013.

An employee models a popular Pure Detroit hoodie

Pop into the Pure Detroit shop when you visit the stunning Guardian Building

Some didn’t make my “Mission Accomplished” list due to technicalities. For example, I’ve visited the Motown Museum several times but have yet to “Sing Inside Studio A,” and have been to the Detroit Historical Museum, but not since it reopened in November after a major overhaul with new exhibits.

I doubt I’ll ever overcome my complete lack of interest in electronic music and “Dance the Night Away at Bleu Detroit” nightclub. And after hearing about Paige’s experience at Movement, the techno music festival, it’s highly unlikely I’ll head to Hart Plaza for that Memorial Day weekend event.

Bobbing in Lake St. Clair among 10,000 boats for the June 28 Jobbie Nooner, which is “all about boats, beers and bikinis,” holds absolutely no appeal.

On Thanksgiving Day home is where I want to be, not at Ford Field watching the Detroit Lions play football, and unless I learn the game, “Golf at Oakland Hills” is not on my calendar.

The Freep’s suggestions reminded me of some things that have been on my To Do list; maybe this is the year I’ll get to Theatre Bizarre, a performance art experience; help to banish the city’s evil red dwarf at Marche du Nain Rouge on March 24; and check out mid-September’s Dally in the Alley in the Cass Corridor.

The ceiling at Cliff Bell's is made of curved wood

The ceiling at Cliff Bell’s is made of curved wood

I’m curious about The Moth storytelling event held on the first Thursday of each month at the very cool Cliff Bell’s club.

Recent rave reviews about the freshly-made sandwiches at Ernie’s in Oak Park have my mouth watering at the thought of checking out that 50-year old market.

While a handful of the 101 activities will probably always remain unchecked (disc golf, anyone?) I may finally get around to a cruise on the 1,500-passenger Detroit Princess Riverboat, hit the alley at the circa 1913 Garden Bowl during its centennial year, and see a movie at The Magic Bag in Ferndale.

Have an expertly crafted cocktail at The Sugar House in Corktown

Have an expertly crafted cocktail at The Sugar House in Corktown

On the other hand, my Must-Do glass is more than half-full— overflowing, even—if I add the cool spots I’ve explored that didn’t make this round-up 101.

Take a look at the list to and keep it handy when you need ideas for things to do in the D.

And call me if you’re picking up the tab at the Freep’s 2012 Restaurant of the Year, The Root Restaurant & Bar in White Lake. Or if you don’t want to go alone to Royal Oak for an evening of Drag Queen Bingo.

 

Visitor Info Clicks:

Visit Detroit

Pure Michigan

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

