Posted by: Kath Usitalo | January 11, 2010

Homemade: A Paramount Anniversary

A new line of java from Michigan's own Paramount Coffee caught my eye at Goodale's Bakery in Grayling

Here’s a toast the 75th anniversary of Lansing-based Paramount Coffee. Founded by 3 partners in 1935, Paramount at first distributed coffee they “imported” from Chicago; they didn’t begin roasting their own beans until 1950. I’m sure I’ve consumed my fair share of their java because it’s sold to restaurants, offices, and all sorts of other outlets, from convenience stores to hospitals—I know I’ve seen the Paramount name on a Bunn-O-Matic pot or several in my life.

Call me a coffee snob, but because I think of the brand as institutional brew I probably wouldn’t have bought a bag of coffee with the Paramount name on it.

But at Goodale’s Bakery in Grayling the other day (more about that sweet spot in the future) I stopped in my tracks at the striking display of colorful bags of ground “Joe Coffee” and “mi coffee” with the image of beans laid out in the shape of Michigan’s two peninsulas. The two brands debuted in the summer of 2009, but it’s the first I’d seen them. I chose two: Joe’s Tall, Dark and Handsome and the mi coffee mighty mac.

TJ brewed the dark roast Joe this a.m. and it was delish (of course, we love strong coffee in this house). Tomorrow we’ll sample the mighty mac, another dark roast.

Paramount also offers other lines of coffee, including Traverse City Cherry and Traverse City Chocolate Cherry flavors, proceeds of which support the National Cherry Festival. With its “Coffee That Cares” Paramount also makes donations to causes with 3 other brands. Interestingly, the company has been employee-owned since the year 2000.

Look for the brand at retailers or order online; it’s good coffee!

Responses

  1. Thanks for the great post! Hope you enjoy the coffee, and keep looking for us on grocery shelves near you!

    Sincerely,

    Paramount Coffee


Leave a Reply

Categories

