Posted by: Kath Usitalo | January 18, 2010

Recipe File: Peanut Butter Cookies

Ancient recipe yields cookies just slightly larger than a tea light

While clearing out the parental home I ran across a recipe I’d written out when I was a kid; I remember making batches of these peanut butter cookies and selling them to my Grandpa, a dozen for a dollar. By the looks of the well-worn recipe you’d think I’d made a million bucks that way.

I decided to whip up a batch with one modification: I substituted butter for shortening. I also use natural peanut butter, which contains only one ingredient: peanuts.

Notice that this recipe specifies the size of the cookie dough ball at 1 (one) inch. With the recipe I’ve used in recent years I roll ’em at golf ball size, so this time I measured the size of the ball to make sure it came in at just 1″.

I’m not sure how strictly I adhered to the 1″ size back in my youth because the recipe states it yields 3 dozen cookies; this time around it made about 4 dozen. The baked cookies were just a tad larger than a tea light candle. Compare that to the saucer-sized cookies sold at most bakeries.

Paige pronounced them “cute.” Tasty, too.

Responses

  1. You didn’t mention how I managed to burn the only batch you left me to keep an eye on.

    • That’s the kind of mom I am!

  2. Fun! I still use a recipe for Corn Bread (actually more like a sweet cake) that I got in 8th grade Home Ec. I’ve passed it on so many times that I could be rich if I had gotten a dollar for each time! Old recipes do bring back memories, hey?

    • yummm…want to share that corn bread recipe? I’m sure it beats the Jiffy mix I use!

      • Sure you can….it’s easy, too!

        IOWA CORN BREAD

        1/2 C. softened butter
        1 C. sugar
        *Cream together.

        2 C. Bisquick
        4 T. cornmeal
        2 eggs
        1/2 tsp. baking powder
        1 C. milk
        *Add and mix until moist. It is a little lumpy so don’t worry.
        *Pour into greased 9×13 pan or muffin cups.

        Bake @ 350 until tops are golden brown. –> bread 20-25 min.
        muffins 10-12 min.

        Enjoy!

      • Thanks, will try it tonight!


Leave a Reply

Categories

