Posted by: Kath Usitalo | May 17, 2010

Biking To Work: Is That All There Is?

Commuting to my office during Bike to Work Week

May is National Bike Month, and the League of American Bicyclists is promoting May 17-21 as Bike to Work Week. I like to ride my Schwinn so I thought I’d participate in this effort to get Americans to appreciate the benefits and enjoyment of commuting on two wheels.

I found the whole thing highly overrated. By the time I prepped for the ride, strapped on the helmet, got the bike into the house and pumped the pedals one time (we have a small house) I arrived at my destination and was singing the Peggy Lee tune, “Is that all there is?”

Of course, the Bike to Work experience will be quite different for those who do not work in a home office. And, I suppose, those with home offices who dwell in larger abodes.

The  League of American Bicyclists website as lots of information to help you prepare for the two-wheeled commute with advice on choosing equipment and clothing, planning a route, safety tips—even ideas for freshening up at the office after your ride.

If you don’t want to ride your bike to the office all week long, aim for two-wheeling it on Friday, May 21, which is designated Bike to Work Day.

I thought about bicycling to work again, and adding a detour around the block just to make the commute interesting.

But that idea lost its appeal when I realized I’d first have to change out of my robe and slippers.

Bike to Work Week: Another reason to appreciate the home office.

Responses

  1. You’re a riot!

    • Someone appreciates my sense of humor! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

