Posted by: Kath Usitalo | August 9, 2010

Crazy For Zucchini

Zucchini aglow at the Alpena Farmers Market

Faithful readers may recall the Amazing True Adventures Of Zak The Zucchini, in which I implied that after one beautiful encounter with the vegetable, freshly plucked from our friends’ garden, I had had my fill of the squash for the season. That lasted until we polished off the zucchini chocolate chip bread.

At the Alpena Farmer’s Market several days ago I found myself irresistibly drawn to the tables loaded with zucchini, and plopped down a buck for six (count ’em, six) of the beauties.

One dollar. How could I resist?

Who could resist 6 for $1.00?

I selected five “normal” size squash and, just because I could, I chose one enormous specimen about the size of a toddler’s baseball bat.

It was so huge I chopped it up and made way too much veggie-orzo salad for our neighborhood block party on Saturday night. There was plenty of that squash remaining so I shredded it and added two cups to the brownie mix I whipped up for the gathering.

The dessert was my variation on the August 8 holiday known as Sneak Some Zucchini Onto Your Neighbor’s Porch Day—a chance to share the bounty with the zucchini-deprived.

I Sneaked Some Zucchini Into Our Neighbors’ Brownies, and they disappeared immediately. (The brownies, not the neighbors.)

We just finished the last of the salad.

Graham took two of the squash and will turn them into something delicious for a dinner he’ll cook for friends.

Three down, three to go.

Instead of baking bread I’ll try this muffin recipe, and these Zucchini Oven Chips look mighty tasty.

But I’m just not sold on zucchini crisp.

Yet.

Responses

  1. I accidentally planted zucchini this year – thought I was grabbing cukes and then when I looked for cucumber plants later, there were none to be found?!?! Alas! I usually just wait for someone to sneak some to my porch, then grate it and freeze it for recipes in the winter. Never thought of putting it in brownies….yumm!

    • And I never thought of freezing z veggie.
      GRATE idea
      ;-0

  2. Nice pun, Kath!!!

  3. We grilled zucchini tonight on the grill. YUM! Have been grating & freezing it for a couple years now. Since we don’t make sweet zucchini bread any more, have been using the grated z for savory pancakes with onions and green onions and cornmeal. YUM!

    • I would love that recipe, if you care to share.

      • Kath, it wasn’t a “real” recipe. We just cut up zucchini in long flat strips (plus some red and orange peppers in strips as well.) Oiled an old baking pan really well with olive oil and drizzled olive oil, salt and pepper atop. Grilled on low heat until brown. Oh yum! Going to cut up the leftovers today and put them on a healthy pizza.


Leave a Reply

Categories

