Posted by: Kath Usitalo | September 2, 2010

A Glass Act In Grand Rapids

"Whoa. How do they cut the grass?" I overheard a kid ask his dad at Meijer Garden's "Red Reeds" by Dale Chihuly. The glass exhibit runs through the end of October.

The permanent collection of art, the landscaping and seasonal displays of flowers are reasons enough to spend time at one of Michigan’s treasures, Frederick Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park in Grand Rapids. Visit between now and the end of October and you’ll also be able to enjoy A New Eden, the special Meijer Gardens’ 15th anniversary exhibit featuring 15 installations by famed glass artist Dale Chihuly.

Chihuly's Neodymium Reeds and Herons and in the distant right, a live white heron

Tom Otterness character outside the Conservatory

Meijer Gardens is an indoor/outdoor complex for all ages. It was such a beautiful day I spent all of my time outside and skipped the Lena Meijer Tropical Conservatory on this trip—but I recommend allowing time for that, too.

TIP: Arrive when the gardens open (9 a.m. Monday-Saturday, Noon Sunday) to beat the crowds. When I left around noon there was quite a line at the admission desk.

Niijima Floats by Chihuly

Read all about this impressive destination at the Meijer Gardens website; I’ll just share some photos that I hope will encourage you to visit Grand Rapids—perhaps during ArtPrize, which runs September 22-October 10. More about that later.

Adorable greeter at the Children's Garden

Frederick Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park is listed as one of the 30 “must see” art museums in the world. Dig it.

Visitor Info Click: Grand Rapids

Travel Michigan: michigan.org

Blue Moon by Chihuly

Blue Polyvitro Crystals, my favorite Chihuly; there are about 3 dozen of these blue chunks scattered across the wetlands

Responses

  1. What amazing photos of an amazing place! I must visit.

    Lori

  2. I think you’d really like it.

  3. Oh my…..it’s incredible! I saw an article on the gardens in one of my gadening magazines, but not with this wondermous glass! Just wish it wasn’t so darn far away – thanx for sharing it!

    My nephew and his wife are going to school down there – Bethany was on our dunes adventure – so I’m going to send them this! 🙂

  4. It’s worth the trip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

