Posted by: Kath Usitalo | December 31, 2010

Tulip Bulbs On New Year’s Eve

Ten little tulip bulbs, finally ready to be tucked in for a long winter's nap

 

I admit I’m a procrastinator, but I’ve outdone myself with the tulip bulb planting this year.

In my November 13, 2009 post I wondered whether it was too late to plant bulbs. Today, on New Year’s Eve, I finally got around to putting 10 little tulip bulbs into the ground.

I’d intended to plant them earlier—back in October when they arrived. They were a purchase from the high school band fundraiser. As a Band Booster I’d organized the sale, as a matter of fact.

Maybe, after sorting and distributing hundreds of bags of tulip, daffodil, anemone and other bulbs I developed spring bulb fatigue and just couldn’t face the simple task of planting ours.

But Mother Nature gave me another chance and I stepped out into today’s spring-like temperature and drizzling rain and plunked them into the still-soft earth. Took less than 10 minutes.

I’m sure the tulips will emerge beautifully in the spring in all their pink and green glory, but I do not plan to make this a New Year’s Eve tradition.

Responses

  1. And thanks you, my front yard will be blooming with pretty pink tulips and sunshine yellow daffs. My thanks for a good neighbor and friend deed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

