Posted by: Kath Usitalo | February 3, 2011

Recipe File: Salmon-Cheese Pie

Salmon-cheese pie with vegetable sauce (in bowl decorated by Paige) with electric train (photo by TJ)

Wednesday’s snow and cold called for comfort food for supper, so I turned to my trusty standby, the $1,000 Salmon-Cheese Pie.

This dish came from one of Mom’s cookbooks, a collection of prize winners for who knows what type of recipe contest. I just have a photo copy of the worn, taped-together pages 50-51 featuring the 3rd place choice in the Junior Contest.

It was won by Miss Lynn Fernald of St. Cloud, Minnesota, who is pictured with her recipe “admiring the electric range which was one of the prizes she won with her remarkable main dish pie.”

We cook with gas, but we do have an electric train, as seen with last night’s pie, above.

$1,000 Salmon-Cheese Pie

Salmon and onion filling and cheese slices are baked between two tender biscuit crusts, then served with creamy vegetable sauce.

Serves 6

(Note: I am including the brand names from the original recipe, but use substitutes)

Sift together …
2-1/4 C sifted Pillsbury’s Best Enriched Flour
3 tsp Calumet Baking Powder
1/2 tsp salt

Cut in…
1/3 C Homogenized Spry (I use butter) until mixture resembles coarse meal

Combine…
2 eggs
1/2 C milk
Beat well. Add to dry ingredients and mix only until all flour is moistened.

Roll out…
two-thirds of dough on well-floured pastry cloth or board to 11-inch circle. Fit into a 9-inch pie pan.

Drain…
1 large can salmon, saving 2 T salmon juice. Flake salmon into bowl, remove skin and bones.
add 1 T grated onion

Turn…
into biscuit-lined pan.

Slice…
1/3 pound cheese (I use cheddar or a combo of cheddar and Monterey Jack) and cover the salmon in the pan.

Roll out…
remaining dough into a 7-inch circle. Place on top of cheese/salmon (it will not touch the biscuit in the pan).

Bake…
at 375 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes.

While the pie is baking, make the

Vegetable Sauce

Melt 1/4 C butter in saucepan. Blend in 1/4 C flour and 1 tsp. French’s Prepared Mustard (I use mustard with a kick, whatever we have on hand). Mix well. Slowly add 2 C milk. Cook over low heat, stirring frequently, until thick. Add 2 C any desired cooked green vegetable (I always use peas). Salt and pepper to taste.

Responses

  1. Awe ~ It does my heart good to see this post. How I’ve longed for this recipe. I used to make it w/Momma, too – probably her sister’s recipe – but couldn’t quite remember how. Comfort FOOD = Comfort MEMORIES! Thanks, Kathy.
    Ellie

    • I didn’t know we shared this little bit of culinary history. Maybe they got the recipe from Grandma!

  2. I’ve been stocking up on canned salmon when it’s on sale, and went looking for our salmon pie recipe…lo and behold, look where I wound up…

    • Cool!
      We’re moving up in the Google world!

  3. I love this recipe, too. It comes from the first cookbook I ever bought (when I was ten years old) by sending one thin dime to Pillsbury in 1952. It was a winner in their second bake-off contest. And when I lost everything in an economic disaster, I lost all my recipes as well . . . what a joy to have found a copy of this again!

    • This crust is the best! So glad you found it. It’s a great comfort dish, especially in winter. Enjoy!

  4. My family loves this recipe!!!! My grandmother use to make it and its been passed down through my family for years. I actually just use bisquick and milk to make the crust. Makes it a quick meal.

    • Good idea using Bisquick. Now that I’m thinking of it, I may have to make the pie. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

