Posted by: Kath Usitalo | April 7, 2011

Another Indie Java Joint: Anchor In Naubinway

 

Coffee with a view of US-2 at Anchor In Naubinway

I’ve picked up a bad habit in Naubinway, but I think it’s a good thing.

The blinker-light town on US-2 in the Upper Peninsula is just a short drive from Blue Skies, our place on Lake Michigan.

We’re lucky to have landed a java joint called the Anchor In Naubinway; a family with a seasonal home in the area opened it a few years ago and it’s become a hangout for locals and great stop for travelers passing through who long for free internet access with their coffee.

The Anchor In even provides loaner PCs, free of charge.

Art by local talent for sale

The log cabin-like structure houses a coffee bar and sells the work of local artists as well as a selection of books, gifts, and home/cottage decor items.

There’s a comfortable lounge area with a faux fireplace and TV, and on some nights there’s acoustic music or a jam session.

You can get ice cream by the scoop and—this is where the bad habit enters the picture—a mean panini.

On my last two trips home from Blue Skies I’ve stopped for a turkey Reuben on dark rye bread to fuel me for the six-hour drive.

The sandwich is delish, but I’m not doing it for purely selfish reasons.

I figure I’m helping the local economy and doing my part to keep this gem of a place afloat.

It’s my duty to have that sandwich. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.




Responses

  1. Fantastic news. The place looks so very inviting. A perfect pre-trip fuel stop.

  2. Oh, my. That looks absolutely yummy. You go and keep the economy humming up there!

    • I take my duty seriously.


Leave a Reply

Categories

