Posted by: Kath Usitalo | May 11, 2011

Homemade: Detroit Suits Him To A Tee

THE Philip Lauri and some of his T shirts

The T-shirts at The Rust Belt Market seemed so familiar.

DETROIT LiVES. 

Where had I seen that block letter image?

Philip Lauri. I knew that name.

Artist. T-shirt designer. Entrepreneur.

Familiar.

I chatted with the young man, tried to make the connection. “I know I know your name,” I said.

He shrugged politely, shook his head, half-smiled.

Did he mention that he’d been featured in the media, that I might have read or heard about him in Detroit Metro Times and Time magazine’s Detroit Blog and NPR and multiple websites and elsewhere?

No.

Did he talk about his ’round-the-world-adventures and how he’d been there, done that, and decided to heed the inexplicable call to come home to Detroit?

That he’s working on a Detroit guidebook, and film, guerilla art and murals about town, and…

Of course not.

Did I buy one of his T-shirts because I love their simplicity and honesty?

No.

But next time maybe I will.

It’s people like Philip Lauri that will ensure that DETROIT LIVES.

Check out Philip Lauri’s website and goods.

Related posts: The Rust Belt market, May 9, 2011

Homemade: Bots and… May 10, 2011

The Rust Belt Market

Responses

  1. I like this guy’s attitude as much as I admire his ambition & never-say-die faith. By the way, the graphics are cool, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

