Posted by: Kath Usitalo | May 23, 2011

Yarden Time

The little hosta with five leaves cost only $2 at Saturday's plant sale

What a plantastic day in the yarden I had on Sunday.

Our small lot is grass-free (well, except for that pesky weedy grass I cannot get rid of), filled with a variety of perennials. We don’t have a lawn to mow, just a lot of yanking of weeds and plants that have found their way, uninvited, to our yarden.

Sunday was the first opportunity I had this season to play in the dirt. What fun it was to weed and rearrange plants and add some that I’d picked up the day before in Perrysburg, Ohio. That’s where my pal Tania lives and gardens; she’s a member of the Black Swamp Hosta & Daylily Society which held its annual sale on Saturday. She and Minnie, the Master Gardener among us, and I had fun adopting plants at the sale and then digging more from Tania’s sprawling cottage garden and borders.

Most of Sunday was spent working in the shady area of the yarden, what I call my miniature Hosta Hillside (officially the Benedict Hosta Collection) at Hidden Lake Gardens in Tipton. It’ll take a while to fill in, but I think I’m happy with the way it’s shaping up—until I get back out there and decide I need to move something around.

Leave a Reply

Categories

