Posted by: Kath Usitalo | August 24, 2011

Homemade: Printmaker, Painter, Fly Fisherman

Prints by Gregorio Perez at Boulevard Market, Tecumseh; I bought the ear of corn, right

I’ve been putting a lot of  miles on the Splattered Van traveling around Michigan this summer, and have seen countless miles of farmland and acres and acres of corn fields.

So when I spotted a bold, woodcut print of an ear of corn at The Boulevard Market  in beautiful downtown Tecumseh (about 60 miles south of Detroit and 40 miles north of Toledo), I decided to take it home as a souvenir of my road trips.

The 5″x7″‘ print, which cost $15 unframed, is by Gregorio Perez of Tecumseh.

I’d love to talk with the artist but haven’t gotten around to calling him yet. After checking out his website I doubt he has time to answer the phone.

When he’s not working as an Engineering Technician at Milan Federal Prison, Gregorio is making woodcut and linocut prints or fly fishing. Or growing plants and trees from seed. Or practicing Bonsai. Or birding. Or taking pictures. Or painting watercolors. Or blogging. Or selling his work on Etsy under the name Arte Goyo. He’s even had time to make YouTube videos.

You can find this Printmaker, Painter, Fly Fisherman (that’s how he bills himself) at the first annual Art in August event 6-9 p.m., Friday, August 26 in Tecumseh and Art-A-Licious festival in Adrian September 16-17.

I won’t be able to make either event; I’ll be busying myself, framing my “Corn” print.

Visitor Info Clicks: 

Tecumseh

Pure Michigan

Michigan corn

 

Responses

  1. Thanks for the feature Kath. I’m glad you like my corn linocut. I just thought I would mention that I dont make nearly as much art as I would like to, my seeds never sprouted, my bonsai are near death, I mostly just dream of fly fishing, and I’m addicted to coffee….lots and lots of coffee! I do need to take smaller bites in life. Slowing down is my new goal. Wish me luck. Let me know the next time you’re in Tecumseh. I’ll buy you a coffee….decaf for me!
    Gregg

    • Funny.
      All the best in 2012.
      I look forward to a return visit and will be sure to call.
      Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

