Posted by: Kath Usitalo | November 1, 2011

My Dear Dad, R.I.P.

A picnic on Lake Michigan, US-2, 1963. Brother John and I are looking toward the Mackinac Bridge; Gordie is focused westward and our destination in Rock, and Dad and twins Karen and Dennis are cooperating by paying attention to Mom, behind the camera

Taking a few days off from blogging in honor and remembrance of my dear dad, Bob Usitalo, who passed away on Saturday, October 29, after struggling with several health issues.

Many thanks to all of you who have expressed sympathy and sent prayers our way.

Bob Usitalo on the University of Detroit campus he roamed for more than 30 years. He retired in 1992 as chief engineer of the power plant headquarterd in the clock tower.

Dad, Navy recruit at age 18

Paige, Dad, Graham and Mom at a school musical (the kids were in the orchestra) just about a week before Mom passed away in 2005

Responses

  1. Kath–I’m so sorry to read of your loss. I lost my Dad a few months ago. It’s not easy. This is a nice tribute to your Dad–I especially love the picture at the lake.

    • Thanks, Laurel. So sorry about your dad, too. Lots of good memories.

  2. I remember him well. Given the age and condition of the buildings, it was always a challenge to keep the place running. Bob constantly applied his years of experience and sometimes shear magic to keep us in an operating mode. I’m fortunate to have shared a place in his life. God bless him.
    Nicholas DeGrazia, former vp finance and operations

    • How nice of you to remember. I like the part about needing magic to keep the joint running—that and duct tape!


Leave a Reply

Categories

